Monday, 20 November 2017
Home arrow Consular and Visa arrow Services for Foreign Citizens
General Visa and Passport Information for Bulgaria Print E-mail

Consular Section Admission Hours:

09.30 - 13.30,Tuesday to Friday, excluding the last Friday of every month

NO ADMISSION every last Friday of the month. 



Useful telephone numbers and addresses:

Individual Inquiries on Submitted Applications: tel.  020 7581 3144; 020 7584 9400 (13.30-16.00 only)
Consular Section Fax: 020 7581 9073
Consular Section Direct e-mail address – This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it
Web site:   “Consular” and “Visa Info”.

Bulgarian visas are issued by the Bulgarian embassies and consulates abroad, not at the airports or the land and sea passport control points in Bulgaria.

By applying for a Bulgarian visa, the applicant agrees that his/her personal data appearing on the application form would be electronically stored and processed, and if necessary, passed over to the appropriate authorities of other countries in execution of Bulgaria's international obligations.
A visa is issued only to holders of passports or travel documents that are valid for Bulgaria for at least 3 months after the end of the intended stay and that contain a blank page for affixing of visa vignettes.

With effect from 1 January 2006, all children entering Bulgaria will need to have their own passport. Children included in their parents' passports will only be allowed in if the passport also contains their photograph.

Upon entry into Bulgaria, foreigners should declare in writing the purpose of their stay and the address at which they will reside. To this end they should fill in a registration form. Exempt of that are the citizens of the European Union member-states and the citizens of the countries in the Economic European Area. The same applies to the UK for British citizens passport holders only.

This is in accordance with changes to the regulations for the implementation of the Law on Foreigners which the Bulgarian Government approved at the end of 2005. The new regulations came into effect from 1 January 2006.

Holders of valid ordinary passports from the following countries do not need a visa to visit Bulgaria for up to 90 days within each period of six months:

Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Commonwealth of the Bahamas, Belgium,Brazil, Brunei,Canada, Chile, Costa Rica,Croatia,Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dаnmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania,Luxembourg, Malaysia,Malta,Mexico,  Monaco, Mauritius, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Poland,  Рortugal, Paraguay, Republic of Korea, Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Seychelles, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Singapore, UK (British Citizen Passport Holders and British Nationals/Overseas/ only), USA,Uruguay, the Vatican, Venezuela, SAR – China (Hong Kong, Makao)